County Quorum Court

The Justice of the Peace is an elected official in county government. Mississippi County has 11 Justices of the Peace which forms the Mississippi County Quorum Court.

The Quorum Court is the Legislative body of county government. These officers representing 11 districts within the county meet to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. The county judge is the presiding officer over the Quorum Court without a vote, but with the power of veto. This veto can be overridden with a 3/5 vote of the total membership of the Quorum Court.

Duties of the Quorum Court include the following powers, but are not limited to:

  • Adopt county ordinances and appropriate funds

  • Levy taxes in a manner as prescribed by law

  • Fill vacancies in county offices

  • Fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by the law

  • Provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs

  • Exercise any other powers necessary for the effective administration of authorized services and functions

Judge John Alan Nelson
Presiding Officer
Justice Betty Hepler
District 10
Justice Drake Brown
District 1
Justice Harbans Mangat
District 9
Justice Melinda Martin
District 7
Justice Molly Jackson
District 5
Justice Tobye McClanahan
District 4
Planning & Development Committee
Justice Cecil McDonald
District 6
Justice Dr. Reggie Cullom
District 11
Justice Michael White
District 2
Justice Neil Burge
District 3
Justice Rick Ash
District 8